STU Home
St. Thomas University
Senate Minutes

May 23, 2002
Holy Cross House Conference Room
9:00 a.m.

Members present: L. Batt, R. Bittermann (History Rep), D. Brodie, B. Craig, G. Kenyon, N. Kinsella, D. McKenzie-Mohr, R. Myers, P. Pheeney, J. Rahn, M. Reimer (Sociology Rep), I. Thiessen, B. Fisher-Townsend

Regrets: G. Baier, J. Doerr, M. George, T. Good, S. Hale, S. MacDonald, E. McKim, W. McLean, S. Murray, D. O'Brien, N. Seely, A White

Absent: M. Arévalo, R. Chrisjohn, J. Coates, D. Gupta, P. Lee, P. Malcolmson, J. Palmer, S. Reid-MacNevin, D. Robinson, J. Rowcroft, D. Savoie, R. Williams

Dr. Myers called the meeting to order.

1. Agenda

It was agreed to adopt the agenda as circulated.

2. Minutes

a) Motion: That the minutes of the April 25, 2002 meeting be adopted as circulated.
Batt:Craig. CARRIED.

b) Motion: That the minutes of the May 9, 2002 meeting be adopted as circulated.
Kenyon:McKenzie-Mohr. CARRIED.

3. Business Arising from Minutes

In response to Dr. Brodie's question, Dr. Myers indicated that June 15, 2002 was the date by which the President should respond to the Senate recommendations dealing with appointments to the academic staff.

4. Nominating Committee

Dr. Myers noted that Dr. Hale's name should not be listed under Academic Planning.

Motion: That Senate approve the report from the Nominating Committee, as corrected.
Rahn:Kenyon. CARRIED.

5. Plagiarism Report

Dr. Myers welcomed Dr. Sheila Andrew as an observer and asked her to introduce the report on preventing plagiarism from the Senate Committee on Student Academic Grievance (May 2002).

Motion: That Senate adopt the recommendations of the report (May 2002) from the Senate Committee on Student Academic Grievance.

It was agreed to add a friendly amendment:

B(iii) Any student who knowingly provides material to support plagiarism is also guilty of academic misconduct.


Dr. Myers undertook to invite a faculty discussion on email to share ideas and suggestions among faculty members.

6. Transition-Year Programme

Dr. Myers welcomed Dr. Bill Dunn as an observer to present the information and the proposed changes to the Transition-Year Programme.

Motion: That Senate approve the suggested revisions for 2002-2003 in the Transition-Year Programme. (May 2002 report)
McKenzie-Mohr:Rahn. CARRIED.

7. Next Meeting

It was agreed that the next meeting would be scheduled for Thursday, June 20, 2002, 9:00 a.m.

8. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 10:00 a.m.

May 23, 2002
Larry Batt, Secretary

If you wish to receive a copy of any of the reports, please contact Barb Greenman, Ext. 531 or