Making History: Abby Clarke Becomes First Tommie to Receive AUS James Bayer Memorial Scholarship


For the first time in St. Thomas University history, a Tommie was awarded the prestigious Atlantic University Sport James Bayer Memorial Scholarship.


The 2019 recipient was Abby Clarke—a netminder for the women’s hockey team and a student in the Bachelor of Social Work program.


The scholarship is given annually to an outstanding student athlete in the AUS conference who achieves excellence in academics, athletics, leadership, sportsmanship, and citizenship.


“To be recognized by the university and the AUS conference is an honour and I’m very grateful to be able to represent the university this way,” Clarke said.


“There have been many great athletes at STU that have been nominated for this award, and I’m humbled to have been the first to be chosen. It’s an award that I share with my teammates, coaches, and family.”


Clarke had a stellar season on the ice for the Tommies. The fifth-year senior backstopped the team to a first-place finish in the regular season and their first AUS title in program history. She was named a second team AUS all-star and AUS playoff MVP, and was crowned the university’s Female Athlete of the Year.


Off the ice, the Springdale, NF, native excels in the classroom and the community. She balances the demands of the rigorous Social Work program and her athletic commitments, and has given back to local non-profits, the Brendan Oretto Hockey camp, facilitated clinics for young goaltenders, collected donations for the food bank, and spent time in elementary schools reading to students.


“My involvement with athletics and the community have had an immense impact on my time at STU,” Clarke said.


“One lesson that I’ll carry with me is to not underestimate the power of people who care and what that can accomplish. In my time at STU I’ve seen so many academics, athletes, and volunteers make impacts on the community and their peers.”