Board of Governors

The Board of Governors, comprised of ex officio members, faculty representation, student representation, alumni representation, appointed members and observers, is the highest governing body of St. Thomas University. It has the authority to regulate and manage the affairs of the university while adhering to its by-laws and policies.

Consistent with its by-laws, the board holds an annual meeting scheduled on or around Spring Convocation in May and must hold at least three other meetings during the year. In practice, the board meets approximately eight times each year.

From the various representative groups, the board has designated committees that pertain to the overall well being and functioning of the university. These include committees for Executive, Finance, Governance, Human Resources, Nominating, Senior Administration Compensation Committee, Honorary Degree, and Joint Board-Senate Committee on the Growth and Future of St. Thomas University.

Ex officio

Most Rev. Robert Harris, BA, LTh, JCL - Chancellor
Dawn Russell, BA, LLB, LLM - President and Vice-Chancellor
Kim Fenwick, BSc, MA, PhD - Vice President (Academic and Research)


Tammy Augustine, BA, LLB (Oct. 2020)

Tanya Chapman, BA, BEd (May 2021)
David Farrar, BA, LLB (May 2020)
David Ferguson, BA (Mar. 2021)

Peter Forestell, QC, BA, LLB (Feb. 2023) - Chair
Krista Han, CPA, CA, FEA (Mar. 2021)
Tom Isaac, BA (Honours), MA, LLB, LLM (Oct. 2022)

Carolyn MacKay, BN, MBA (Jan. 2023)

Daniel McCarthy, BComm, FCPA, DComm (May 2022)

Rev. Douglas R. McNeill, BA, BTh, MDiv (Oct. 2020)
Phillippe Ouellette, BA, MA (Sept. 2020)
Candace Paul (Dec. 2022)

Vaughn Sturgeon, BA, CPA, CMA (May 2021)
Stephen Ward, BA, MA, PhD (May 2022)

Bill Whalen, BA, APR, FCPRS (Oct. 2019)


Dawne Clarke, BA, MA, PhD (Sept. 2020)

Karla O'Regan, BA, MA, JD, LLM, PhD (Sept. 2019)
Jean-Philippe Ranger, BA, MA, PhD (Sept. 2020)


Jane Abernethy, BT, BA (Oct. 2019)
Marg Tracy, BA (Dec. 2020)


Brandon Case (May 2019)
Rebecca Kingston (May 2019)


Jeffrey Carleton, BA, MA (Associate Vice-President, Communications)
Lily Fraser, BSc, MHA, CPA, CGA (Vice-President, Finance and Administration)
Jodi Misheal, BA, BEd (Vice-President, Advancement and Alumni Relations)

Brianna Workman (President, Students' Union) (May 2019)

Board Member Biographies
Standing Committees
An Act to Incorporate St. Thomas College
Agreement of Affiliation