Senate Committee

PURPOSE: The Senate Committee on Reconciliation reflects the reconciliation needed for Indigenous and non-Indigenous communities served by St. Thomas University to work towards decolonization of the University.

MEMBERS: The Committee is chaired by Dr. Kim Fenwick, Vice-President (Academic and Research), and includes the following members:

  • Dr. André Loiselle, Dean of Humanities (ex officio)
  • Dr. Susan Machum, Dean of Social Sciences (ex officio)
  • Hon. Graydon Nicholas, Chancellor of St. Thomas University, Endowed Chair in Native Studies
  • Miigam'agan, Elder-in-Residence
  • Trenton Augustine, Indigenous Student Services Coordinator
  • Wendy Johnson, Indigenous Student Counsellor
  • Dr. Kathleen McConnell, English Language and Literature
  • Professor Josephine Savarese, Criminology and Criminal Justice
  • Two Indigenous Students, preferably in different years of study - Jonah Simon and Leanne Hudson


1. The Committee works to ensure that the University annually identifies and fulfills its responsibility in accordance with the Final Report of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (2015) that universities take the lead in re-setting the relationship between Indigenous and non-Indigenous communities.  


2. On identifying goals and tasks to be undertaken in each academic year, the Committee determines practical steps and specific timelines for advancing reconciliation through initiatives that address education, dialogue, and collective action.


3. The Committee is responsible for drawing the University’s attention to ways to build on and expand existing relationships between the University and Indigenous communities in the region.


Senate Committee on Reconciliation - Strategic Plan


MEETINGS: The Committee will meet on a bi-weekly basis from September to June, and as needed during July and August.

REPORTING TO SENATE: The Committee Chair or designate reports to Senate once per year at the April meeting.