STU Students Recognized for their Contribution to Student Journalism 

Two St. Thomas University students have been recognized for their contribution to student journalism at this year’s Atlantic Journalism AwardsGiuliana Grillo De Lambarri received the m5 Student Journalism Award and Jacob Moore received the Boyne Clarke Student Journalism Award.  


Giuliana Grillo De Lambarri, from Lima, Peru, was the news editor of The Aquinian this year. She broadened the coverage of student news to show how provincial, national, and global issues were important on campus. Examples of her coverage included events in Iran, Peru, and the fierce New Brunswick debate over the future of French immersion in schools.  

“I believe this award is a recognition of the importance of student journalism in giving a voice to students and underrepresented communities,” she said. “Journalism is all about hearing people out and learning their perspectives, which is just what The Aquinian does week to week. I want to thank my coworkers at The Aquinian for inspiring me to do better and to aim high with every story.”  


Jacob Moore, from Grand Bay-Westfield, NB, was the features editor of The Aquinian. He found compelling stories in the people around him on campus and in the larger community. Examples of his storytelling included stories about a filmmaker, the campus barista, and the community that gathers at the Fredericton Public Library.   


It's hard for student journalists because of how quickly the journalism world is changing thanks to the internet and now AI,” he said. “A lot of us come up with our own philosophies about what good journalism looks like now and in the future. Of course, it's about learning people's perspectives and about balance, fairness, and telling the truth. But within that, there is still an incredible amount of storytelling freedom. I'm thankful for the award because it means there's space in the world for me and my kind of storytelling.

The Student Journalism Awards recognize a show of work by students that was created while the nominee was a student at a post-secondary institution in Atlantic Canada. The work must be related to a subject specific to one or more of the four Atlantic provinces. 


STU Alumni Finalists in AJAs 


Three STU alumni were also finalists at the Atlantic Journalism Awards. Steve Bruce (BA’07) received a silver award in the Breaking/Spot News category for “MV Holiday Island fire.” Karissa Donkin (BA’12) received a silver award for “Equity on ice” in the Sports Reporting category. Hannah Rudderham (BA’22) received a silver award for the Jim MacNeill New Journalist Award for her show of work.  

This year, the Atlantic Journalism Awards held ceremonies at the College of the North Atlantic in St, John’s, NL, the University of King’s College in Halifax, NS, and at St. Thomas University in Fredericton. The awards ceremonies were recorded and will be broadcast on Eastlink Community TV at 10 PM AT every Thursday during May 2023 (May 4, 11, 18 and 25). The program will also be available through Eastlink On Demand. The ceremony at STU was recorded by STU students Ian Curran, Guinevere Santaguida, and Aaron Sousa.